Past WWIG Banquet Speakers

2019 – Kristen Soltis Anderson, Republican pollster and co-founder of Echelon Insights, an opinion research, data analytics, and digital intelligence firm
2018 – Samantha Power, former U.S. ambassador to the United 
2017 –  Rachel Campos-Duffy, author, Fox News Contributor, and wife of Congressman Sean Duffy
2016 –
 Donna Shalala, President of the Clinton Foundation, former United States Secretary of Health and Human Services, and past Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison
2015 –
History & Humor: Honoring Wisconsin’s First Political Women with ComedySportz
2014 –
Former Senator Kay Bailey Hutchinson, Texas’ first woman Senator
2013 – Laura Schwartz, speaker, author of Eat, Drink & Succeed and television commentator, served as the White House Director of Events to former President Bill Clinton
2012 – Dana Perino, White House Press Secretary to former President George W. Bush from 2007-2009
2011 – Kathleen Kennedy Townsend , Maryland’s first woman Lt. Governor
2010 – Karen Hughes, Ambassador, former Counselor to President George W Bush and Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs
2009 – Donna Brazile, Democratic political strategist, commentator, adjunct professor, author, syndicated columnist, and the Vice Chair of Voter Registration and Participation at the Democratic National Committee
2008 – Jenna Bush, International and child rights advocate & best-selling author
2007 – Elizabeth Edwards, Attorney and best-selling author
2006 – Christine Todd Whitman, New Jersey’s first female Governor
2005 – Hillary Rodham Clinton, U.S. Secretary of State, former U.S. Senator, and former First Lady
2004 – Mary Matalin, former counselor to President Bush & Vice President Cheney
2003 – The Capitol Steps, musical political satire
2002 – Linda Wertheimer, award-winning broadcaster for National Public Radio
2001 – Catherine Crier, award-winning journalist for Court TV
2000 – Arianna Huffington, syndicated columnist and author
1999 – Pat Schroeder, former Colorado congresswoman
1998 – Ann Richards, former Governor of Texas
1997 – Lynne Cheney, former Chairwoman of the National Endowment for the Humanities and author
1996 – Dee Dee Myers, former press secretary for President Bill Clinton
1995 – Dr. Jeane Kirkpatrick, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations
1994 – Ann Compton, award-winning journalist for ABC
1993 – Janet Steiger, former Chairwoman of the Federal Trade Commission
1992 – Molly Ivins, award-winning syndicated columnist and best-selling author
1991 – Peggy Noonan, columnist for the Wall Street Journal, author, and former speechwriter to President Reagan
1990 – Ellen Goodman, Pulitzer Prize Winning syndicated columnist for the Boston Globe
1989 – Marie Davis Gadsden, Administrator for National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education. 1988 recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Wisconsin. Presidential Citation as one of the top women in the U.S. Government service.
1988 – Donna Shalala, President of the University of Miami, former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and former Chancellor of UW-Madison

Past Women of Achievement

 2013 Business Women of Achievement Award

Cindy Brown
Deb Carey
Camille Haney
Susan Lipp

2012 Journalism Women of Distinction

Judith Davidoff
Gwyn Guenther
Raquel Rutledge
Pat Simms

2011 Local & Municipal Government Women of Distinction

Sandy Decker
Kathleen Falk
Frances Huntley-Cooper

2010 Health Care Women of Distinction

Gale Johnson
Dr. Sheri Johnson
Rep. Kitty Rhoades
Senator Judy Robson
Former First Lady Sue Ann Thompson
Sec. Karen Timberlake

2009 Military Women of Distinction

Marcia Anderson
Ellen Healey
Nancy Kaczor
Lisa Kromanaker
Joane Mathews
Gay Leigh Mundy
Michelle Seavers
Tracy Wannamaker

2008 Tribal Women of Distinction

Ada Deer
Grandma Genevieve Goslin
Kathy Hughes
Helene Lincoln
Donna Lynk
Lorna Shawano
Terrie K. Terrio
Tina Van Zile

2006 Award

Shirley Abrahamson
Barbara Crabb
Diane Sykes

2005 Award

Tammy Baldwin
Gwendolynne Moore

2004 Award

Katharine Lyall
Janice Mueller

2003 Award

Peg Lautenschlager
Barbara Lawton
Mary Panzer

2001 Award

Elizabeth Burmaster
Margaret Farrow

1999 Award

Tammy Baldwin